About Us – Original

We live about 70 kilometers from Melbourne on the outskirts of suburbia and enjoy the fresh air and more relaxed lifestyle that this affords us. In saying that though, we also lived in the middle of a thriving, bustling city (Edinburgh, Scotland) for 8 years and thoroughly enjoyed everything that inner city living had to offer. We have travelled to more than 30 countries and feel comfortable exploring new environs and cultures.

Thailand 0618_1

Jacqueline was born in Melbourne, Australia. Her younger years were spent living in the city before she moved with her family to the country side on a few acres. There she had horses, chickens and dogs.  She lived in Edinburgh, Scotland for 8 years and enjoyed the many benefits ‘city’ living provides.

Jacqueline is employed as a dental nurse at a Community Dental clinic and in her spare time she likes to read and keeps active by umpiring basketball games and riding her bicycle to work.

Jacqueline has been married to Glenn for 28 years and they have a 25 year old son.  Glenn has a ‘green thumb’ and loves being outside in the garden, regardless of the weather, while Jacqueline keeps a tidy house and enjoys cooking their home grown produce.

Glenn at BunningsGlenn was an Information Technology professional for over twenty years working for large corporations in Australia and the UK. On returning to Australia in the mid 2000’s he was ready for a change of pace and looking for more time to pursue his other interests – one of which was growing home produce. Glenn worked as an office manager for local firms for a number of years before landing his dream job working in the plant nursery of the local large format DIY store. He loves tending the plants and helping customers find the ideal plant solution to their needs.

Pets – we currently have an Australian Cattle Dog (Blue heeler) named Rusty, a small flock of chickens (Marigold, Petunia, Iceberg and Daphne) and two aviaries containing finches, canaries and parrots.

We live on a standard house block with large garden and have tended to all the usual home maintenance tasks – painting, tiling, general repairs, basic plumbing, etc. so have the necessary skills to overcome any minor emergency situation.

 Whilst we both really enjoy our home and jobs we feel now is an ideal time to further explore the world. Our son has graduated from University and is forging his own life and we are still young enough to get out and about and satisfy our travel wanderlust. House sitting affords us the opportunity to do this whilst providing a service to those who want someone reliable to look after their property and pets.

Most importantly, we pride ourselves on keeping our word. Combined with a sense of adventure, resourcefulness and the experience of dealing with life’s up and downs we pride ourselves on providing ‘peace of mind’.

If you are looking for a mature, reliable, flexible and very competent couple to look after your home, garden and pets, look no further.

Note: Police checks are available on request